Qty. Item Subtotal
Total $0.00


GF, 7 Ltl. Miller St
Brunswick East,
VIC 3057 AUS

Opening Hours

Wed–Fri 12–5pm
Sat 12–4pm



Roh Singh Ephemeric Time

Opening: Tuesday 17 October, 6-8pm Dates: 17 October-4 November 2006

Roh Singh lectures in Sculpture, Installation Art, Drawing and Design for Swinburne University in Melbourne and is a current Masters candidate completing a Masters in Art – Art in the Public Space at RMIT University Melbourne.

Roh Singh completed his Bachelor of Fine Arts with first class honours at Monash University in 2002. In this same year he won the ($7000) acquisitive Fundere Sculpture prize.

In 2006, Roh was awarded the Australia Council NewWork Grant (Emaerging Artist) and was shortlisted for the 2006 ABN ANBRO Emerging Artist Award. In 2007, Roh was selected again, and also for the Helen Lempriere National Sculpture Award.

Roh’s work was exhibited in Snap Freeze: Still Life Now at Tarrawarra Museum of Art (2007) and in the 2008 Melbourne Artfair. Roh Singh’s sculptures have been commissioned by private collectors in Australia and abroad.

Singh’s practice focuses on the limitations of sculpture, on the intangible as physical form. He is interested in the outcomes of attempting to manifest ephemeral forms which are not practical to sculpture. Singh has produced bodies of work around the idea of virtual spaces and forms, sound as a physical object and is currently creating a site specific memorial to the March 2011 Japan tsunami as part of the 2012 Sculpture by the Sea exhibition in Bondi.

Solo exhibitions include Within Noise, dianne tanzer gallery + projects, Melbourne (2010); æther, dianne tanzer gallery, Melbourne (2009); and Quite Colonies, Melbourne Artfair, Melbourne. Singh has also participated in several group exhibitions including White Hot, dianne tanzer gallery + projects, Melbourne (2010); Redlands Westpac Art Prize, Mosman Art Gallery, Sydney (2009); Woollahra Small Scuplture Prize, Woollahra Council Chambers, Sydney (2009); and Ivy Tropes, ACGA Gallery, Federation Square, Melbourne (2009).